Crossing the plane of the pickleball net is one of the most-asked questions from beginner and intermediate players. Can you cross the plane of the pickleball net? And if so, when?
USA Pickleball net rules
Crossing the plane of the pickleball net is mentioned a few times in the USA Pickleball rules:
- Crossing the plane of the net prior to striking the ball is a fault. Immediately after striking the ball, a player or anything the player is/was wearing or carrying may cross the plane of the net. The player may not touch any part of the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still live. After striking the ball, the allowance to cross the plane of the net only applies in the course of executing the current strike of the ball and for continuation specifically associated with the current strike of the ball. (Rule 11.I.)
- Once the ball is in play, a player hitting the ball before the ball entirely crosses the plane of the net [is a fault]. (Rule 7.K.)
- A player is allowed to go around the net post and cross the imaginary extension line of the net after hitting the ball, so long as the player or any item he or she is/was wearing or carrying does not touch the opponent’s court. If the player goes around the net post and crosses the imaginary extension line of the net but does not make contact with the ball, a fault will be declared. (Rule 11.L.3)
- [It is a fault if] a player, a player’s apparel, or a player’s paddle contact[s] the net system, the net posts, or the opponent’s court, when the ball is live. (Rule 7.G.)
Read the full list of all USA Pickleball rules.
Exceptions to the pickleball plane of the net rule
There are (at least) two exceptions to the plane of the pickleball net rule:
1. The ball crosses the net and back over without being touched
If the ball bounces into a receiving player's court with enough backspin or wind to cause it to return to the other side of the net without first being touched, the receiving player may cross the plane of the net over, under, or around the net post to hit the ball. (Rule 11.I.1.)
Read more about the Over & Back Rule.
2. Clothing rules
Your clothing may cross the plane of the pickleball net, but not in every scenario. Here are the details of your clothing crossing the plane of the pickleball net:
- Immediately after striking the ball, a player or anything the player is/was wearing or carrying may cross the plane of the net. The player may not touch any part of the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still live. After striking the ball, the allowance to cross the plane of the net only applies in the course of executing the current strike of the ball and for continuation specifically associated with the current strike of the ball. (Rule 11.I.)
- It is a fault if the receiving player, or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying, crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over to the plane of the net to the opponent's side. (Rule 7.K.)
Learn more about pickleball clothing rules.
Around-the-Post (ATP) pickleball shot
There are a few shots that will specifically have you going across the plane of the pickleball net, and the ATP shot may be the most common. Here are more details on the Around-the-Post pickleball shot:
- Shots Around the Net Post: A player may return the ball around the outside of the net post. (Rule 11.M.)
- The ball does not need to travel back over the net. (Rule 11.M.1.)
- There is no restriction on the height of the return, meaning a player may return the ball around the net post below the height of the net. (Rule 11.M.2.)
- A player is allowed to go around the net post and cross the imaginary extension line of the net after hitting the ball, so long as the player or any item he or she is/was wearing or carrying does not touch the opponent’s court. If the player goes around the net post and crosses the imaginary extension line of the net but does not make contact with the ball, a fault will be declared. (Rule 11.L.3.)
Learn more about the ATP pickleball shot.
Watch the ATP shot from @ThatPickleballGuy: